.30-30 OAL for Reloading

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
kmittleman
Levergunner 2.0

.30-30 OAL for Reloading

Post by kmittleman »

Hi Guys,

I'm relatively new to reloading and am working up loads for my Marlin 336 in .30-30. Does it matter if I size the cartridge to the max OAL as described in the schematic (of the .30-30 in my relaoding manual) or can it be just anywhere between min. to max. OAL?

Thanks in advance!

-Kevin
"The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he doesn't exist." - C.S. Lewis
J Miller
Member Emeritus

Re: .30-30 OAL for Reloading

Post by J Miller »

I have never seen a lever action 30-30 that cared the least bit about a few thousands in over all length. When in doubt build a dummy round and see if it will feed and function through your rifle.

For my 30-30s I trim the cases to 2.028" (as per the Winchester loading guides I have) after full length sizing them, then I seat my bullets to crimp in the crimp grove.
I have never in 46 years of loading the 30-30 had a rifle that would balk at rounds loaded in this manner.

Joe
***Be sneaky, get closer, bust the cap on him when you can put the ball where it counts ;) .***
iceman
Senior Levergunner

Post by iceman »

I do the same, check the trim to length after sizing, if inside the parameters, seat to groove and go at it. I also check once in a while to make sure the first of the batch feeds properly before doing a batch.
Happiness is a comfortable stump on a sunny south facing mountain.
earlmck
Advanced Levergunner

Post by earlmck »